Scientific Council

The Scientific Council is a committee of the NSV Board.

Strategic Direction

  • To focus the Council to that of a strategic and operational interaction between Members, geared towards development of Melbourne as a global centre for neuroscience.
  • To identify and fast track major new initiatives and maintain strong communication with government, industry and philanthropy where appropriate
  • To provide a forum for senior management across the Melbourne neuroscience cluster to identify and manage priorities and strategies for the Victorian neuroscience community.

Operational Activities

  • Maintain an awareness of issues relevant to neuroscience across the sector, locally, interstate and internationally
  • Identify and coordinate new program development where there is a major technology gap in Victoria and identify world-class staffing for these initiatives
  • Support important capability areas where there is opportunity
  • Form working groups to facilitate liaison and development of new initiatives


  • Professor Graeme Jackson (Chair), The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health
  • Associate Professor Joe Ciorciari, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Professor Stephen Davis AM, Melbourne Health
  • Professor Geoffrey Donnan AO, The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health
  • Dr Anthony Filippis, Neurosciences Victoria
  • Professor Paul Fitzgerald, Monash Alfred Psychiatry Research Centre
  • Professor Trevor Kilpatrick, The University of Melbourne
  • Professor Christopher Rowe, Austin Health
  • Professor Rob Shepherd, The Bionics Institute
  • Professor Ian Smith, Monash University